Skip to content

It’s the little things.

June 7, 2013

Hi folks. I have a confession. I own a lot of pairs of really tatty undies and some socks that aren’t in the best state of repair. (Duncan here, by the way). Now that we are committed to zero waste and a year of nothing new, I’m a bit perplexed about how I am going to keep myself in ‘smalls’ for want of a better term. I’m not overly excited at the prospect of second hand underpants. I may have to make some from old materials. Any advice anyone?

9 Comments
  1. I’ve just made two pairs of undies from an old tshirt. I traced around an old pair out on some paper to make a pattern, and traced the pattern on to the tshirt. Then it was just a matter of sewing the seams and some elastic around the waste.

    The good thing is that it was MY tshirt (I know where it’s been!) and the fabric is super soft and comfortable. Didn’t have to finish the seams and I didn’t bother with elastic around the legs, so it was very quick and easy. I did have to buy some elastic from the supermarket, but you may be able to recycle some from somewhere.

    There are loads of how-to guides on the net, if you search for upcycle tshirt/underwear etc. Good luck!

  2. I’d love to see how you go with this, but I’m not sure it’s something I’d get to doing…

  3. That’s great Ann. I’d like to see Dunc give this a go too…could be hilarious as his sewing skills are worse than mine!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Yeah, it does help if you have a sewing machine and like to use it! My “new” undies aren’t pretty, but they’re very comfortable, and I feel smugly satisfied when I wear them.

  4. Ps Anne, wish I has known about you when we recently got married, you would have been right up ally I think.

    • Thanks! But we only moved down here a couple of months ago, so unless you were getting married in Canberra…

  5. Darning is surprisingly easy – look on youtube for advice. Or take up knitting..

  6. For the socks, I mean…

  7. Jem permalink

    Ya gotta check out this option too Dunc:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-18301669

    ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Response

